September 4, 2015

Board of Directors

President Verjeana M. Jacobs

Meeting Dates

Oct. 25, 2014
Board of Directors Retreat

Regular Meetings

November 19, 2014

December 17,  2014

January 21, 2015

February 25, 2015

April 22, 2015

July 15, 2015

September 9, 2015

Please check the MABE
calendar for meeting 


The board of directors is comprised of the officers of the association, the immediate past president, and twelve additional members. All must be current members of their local boards of education. The immediate past president may serve an additional  year on the board of directors as an ex-officio, non-voting member.

Members may be nominated by their local boards. The nominating committee, comprised of local board members, submits a slate of officers and members at the annual business meeting, and the slate is voted upon by the membership. The officers and members serve a one year term beginning the day after the election. The board schedules five meetings a year in addition to an annual retreat. 

2014-2015 Board of Directors


Verjeana Jacobs, President, Prince George's County
Warner I. Sumpter, President-Elect, Somerset County
Donna L. Brightman, Treasurer, Washington County
Alysson Krchnavy, Secretary, Harford County


Kathryn B. Groth,Immediate Past President, Frederick County
Rodger Janssen, Past President, 2nd Year, Baltimore County

George Abner, Caroline County
Cathy Allen, St. Mary's County
Philip L. Bramble, Jr., Dorchester County
Dawn Branch, Cecil County
Thomas A. Carr, Garrett County
Marnell Cooper, Baltimore City
Ellen Flynn Giles, Howard County
Virginia R. Harrison, Carroll County
Juanita Hopkins, Talbot County
Philip Kauffman, Montgomery County

Patricia A. Nalley, Anne Arundel County
Joy Schaefer, Frederick County