January 18, 2018

Employment Opportunity


May 22, 2017 – MABE currently has an opening for a Fiscal Officer. Employment details and the application are now available; the position will remain open until filled. 

Exhibitors Welcome at Annual Conference


Our Exhibitor and Sponsor Prospectus is now available online! We welcome businesses, associations, and organizations that provide products and/or services to Maryland public schools to join us for our Annual Conference October 4-6 in Ocean City.  

Blumsack Recipient of Award


MABE is pleased to announce the selection of Kathryn F. (Kitty) Blumsack, former MABE Director of Board Development,  as the recipient of the 2017 MABE Excellence in Education Award.

The award was established in 2012 by the Maryland Association of Boards of Education to honor then-retiring executive director Dr. Carl W. Smith. It is presented to an individual who has demonstrated exemplary leadership and service to excellence in public education in Maryland. Nominations for this award may be submitted only by Maryland school board members, and must be supported by no less than three individuals.

Blumsack was hired by MABE in 1999 to create a comprehensive professional development program for board members. In the intervening 17 years, she came in contact with a majority of school board members across the state, either through New Board Member Orientation, the Annual Conference, or the myriad of workshops and programs she designed for individual and whole board training.

The award submission stated, “This nominee has provided board members and, very often, superintendents and their senior staff, the training, support, and mentoring they need to understand the parameters of their job, the nature of their relationships, the continual changes, and the urgency of the task at hand. High functioning boards, we’re so often told, result in high functioning schools. And high functioning boards in Maryland are generally the result of the education provided by this nominee.”

According to MABE President Joy Schaefer, “As the beneficiary of many professional development opportunities designed and often presented by Kitty, I am thrilled at the choice made by the awards committee. I cannot imagine a more worthy person to be recognized for her leadership, contribution, and service to Maryland education."

The award will be presented at the Maryland Association of Boards of Education Annual Conference in Ocean City, Maryland, in October 2017.

2017 Legislative Session Summary

 The 2017 Legislative Session has ended, and MABE provides a complete summary (updated 4/19/17) of all bills impacting education in Maryland. 

Join Us! MABE Reception at NSBA Conference

Start your 2017 NSBA Conference by making time to connect with your Maryland colleagues! Join us in Denver at the Pinnacle Club, 38th Floor, Grand Hyatt Denver Hotel, 1750 Welton Street, from 5:30 until 7:30 p.m. 

NSBA Conference                      Why Attend the NSBA Conference?

Many thanks to our reception sponsors:

AlliantCarney Kelehan Bresler Bennett & Scherr LLPFranklin & Prokopik, HavtechJohnson ControlsKPPC, PKLaw, Prudential, Source4Teachers

2017 LSA Seminars Announced

Dates have been set for the 2017 Legal Services Association Seminars. All seminars are held at the Anne Arundel County Board of Education building in Annapolis. Details are available on LSA's website page

Nominations Now Open

Nominations are now open for MABE's Excellence in Education Award 

This award was established in 2012 to honor the retiring executive director, Carl W. Smith. It may be presented every other year (alternating  with the Maryland Association Boards of Education Distinguished Board Member Service Award) to an individual who has  demonstrated exemplary leadership and service to excellence in public education in Maryland.

Legislative Luncheon, Feb. 9


Sponsored by Senator Addie Eckardt, MABE’s Annual Legislative Day Luncheon provides a forum for legislative leaders to share their perspectives and positions on education funding and policy issues and for local board members to advocate for MABE’s legislative priorities.  The President of the Senate, Speaker of the House, and education and budget committee chairs and vice-chairs present remarks, share lunch, and engage local board members in lively discussions. All members of the House and Senate are invited and many attend looking for their local boards and their input on pending bills.

RAIN OR SHINE – Thursday, February 9, 2017, 11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Miller Senate Building, Annapolis, MD

Pre-Luncheon Meeting for Legislative Committee Members, 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

Convenient parking at Navy/Marine Corps Stadium

Details of scheduled speakers to follow.

For additional information please contact Tracy Oldaker, 410.841.5414 or toldaker@mabe.org

NSBA Equity Symposium

NSBA's one – day symposium will provide a forum for school board members, public school advocates, and community leaders to examine and discuss the strategies, current trends, research, and best practices that are positively impacting the educational outcomes of academically and economically disadvantaged students in traditional K-12 public settings. – See more at: https://www.nsba.org/equity#sthash.TVioNx9l.dpuf

MABE Leadership Presents on ESSA at State Board


The State Board provided the opportunity for representatives from the Maryland Association of Boards of Education (MABE) to present the association’s perspectives on the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) and the development of Maryland ESSA Accountability Plan.   Board President Andy Smarick welcomed MABE’s representatives, and noted that the State Board had afforded the same opportunity to other major stakeholders including the Public School Superintendents Association of Maryland (PSSAM) and the Maryland State Education Association (MSEA).

MABE’s President-elect Joy Schaefer, who chairs MABE’s Committee on ESSA and is a Frederick County board member, presented MABE’s statement. She was joined by Ellen Flynn Giles, MABE’s representative on the MSDE ESSA Stakeholder Committee, and a Howard County board member, who participated in the morning’s dialogue with the State Board.