April 19, 2015

Charles W. Willis Memorial Award

Is a current or former member of your school board deserving of MABE’s highest honor?

The Charles W. Willis Award represents recognition by peers of outstanding service at the local and state level. The award, established in memory of MABE's first executive director, is limited to a single honoree annually.

The Charles W. Willis Award committee, made up of current board members from around the state, meet in July to determine the recipient. Their decision is based on the following criteria:

  • Demonstrates keen understanding of his/her responsibilities as a board member in the formulation of policy and the establishment of sound educational programs
  • Works affirmatively to foster improved student achievement
  • Works proactively to foster community engagement with all education stakeholders
  • Devotes personal time, effort, and skill to promote the goals of public education
  • Accepts and fulfills the responsibilities of a board member by working collaboratively with board and staff and adhering to high ethical standards
  • Values diversity by advocating for the educational needs of all children

Nomination forms are sent to board offices and board presidents in late March; nominations close in early July (specific date varies year to year).

As a board, please consider nominating a current or former Maryland school board member for this highest honor.

Please contact Frances Hughes Glendening, Executive Director, fglendening@mabe.org or 410-841-5414, for further information.

Past Recipients

2012  Nancy J. King, Montgomery County

2011  Jerrelle F. Francois, Baltimore City

2010  William J. Phalen, Jr., Calvert County

2009  Patricia B. O'Neill, Montgomery County

2008  C. Scott Stone, Carroll County

2007   Wilson H. Parran, Calvert County

2006   Rodney L. Durst, Garrett County

2005   Sandra H. French, Howard County

2004   Dr. George I. Whitehead, III, Wicomico County

2003   Lt. Col. Eugene C. Chandler, Harford County

2002   Dr Alvin D. Thornton, Prince George's County

2001   Dane A. Coleman, Caroline County

2000   Dr. J. Edward Andrews, Maryland State Board of Education

1999   Carolyn L. Scott, Carroll County

1998   Mildred Casey, Queen Anne's County

1997   Thomas R. Hendershot, Prince George's County

1996   Dr. Terrence H. Scout, Kent County

1995   George D. Lisby, Harford County

1994   George W. Fisher, Sr., Maryland State Board of Education, Caroline County

1993   B. Marie Byers, Washington County

1992   Deborah D. Kendig, Howard County

1991   Norman J. Saunders, Charles County

1990   Marilyn J. Praisner, Montgomery County

1989   Dr. Percy V. Williams, Harford County

1988   T. Reynolds Carpenter, Dorchester County

1987   Joanne T. Goldsmith, Maryland State Board of Education

1986   G. George Asaki, Maryland State Board of Education, Anne Arundel County

1985   William S. Moore, Wicomico County

1984   Lucille Maurer, Montgomery County

1983   Gertrude H. Crist,  Howard County

1982   Jerome Frampton, Jr., Maryland State Board of Education, Caroline County

1981   Beverley H. Zimmerman, Anne Arundel County

1980   T. Bayard Williams, Jr., Baltimore County

1979   Frederick K. Schoenbrodt, Howard County