April 25, 2018

News Releases


ESMEC Experiences First Year Success with Keenan Pharmacy Purchasing Coalition (KPPC)

MABE Congratulates Member Martha James-Hassan on receiving the Annual Dr. Effie H. Jones Humanitarian Award from AASA

Open Meetings Act Alert

  MABE Hires New Director of Communications & Marketing


Young Hired as New Director of Board Development

McDaniels Elected President at MABE Annual Conference

MABE & Superintendents Association Join to Provide Remarks to Kirwan Commission

Blumsack Recipient of MABE Excellence in Education Award


Director of Board Development Hired

Schaefer Assumes Presidency of MABE

National Experts Recommend $1.9 Billion Increase in School Funding

Brightman Elected President at 2016 Annual Conference

Cooper Completes Leadership I

Harshman Completes Leadership II Program

Palmer Completes Leadership II Program

Schaefer Completes Leadership II Program

Williams Completes Leadership II Program

Blumsack Leaving MABE to Pursue Other Opportunities

Salmon Appointed New State Superintendent

MABE Reacts to David Lever Resignation


Every Student Succeeds Act (S.1177) Signed Into Law by President Obama

Sumpter Elected President at 2015 Annual Conference

State Superintendent of Schools Resigns; Smith Appointed Interim

Brandman Recipient of MABE Distinguished School Board Service Award

Local Boards of Education Oppose Governor Hogan’s Insertion of a Private School Voucher Program in the Maryland State Budget

MABE President Joins Legislative Leaders & Education Advocates to Urge Restoration of Gov. Hogan’s School Funding Cuts

MABE Opposes Education Cuts in Governor’s Proposed Budget

MABE Opposes Mandated Post-Labor Day Start Date for Schools


MABE Supports State Board’s Approval of 2 Year Delay in Testing

MABE Calls for Two Year Delay in High Stakes Testing

Frederick Members Smith & Schaefer Complete Leadership I

Palmer Completes Leadership I

Wlliams Completes Leadership I

MABE Conference Attracts Members From Across the State

MABE Partners with Keenan Pharmacy Purchasing Coalition (KPPC)

Allegany Board of Education Successfully Completes MABE Master Board Program

MABE Joins Education Community in Pledge to Further Strengthen Evaluations

Eisenberg Recipient of Carl W. Smith Excellence in Education Award

Col. Donald Wade Death


Groth Elected MABE President

Harshman Completes Leadership I

Col. Don Wade Recipient of Willis Award


Frances Hughes Glendening Chosen as New Executive Director

Janssen Elected MABE President

Jackson Completes Leadership I

McGuire Completes Leadership I

Waller Completes Leadership I

Senator Nancy King Recipient of Willis Award

MABE Executive Director Announces Retirement


Bauer Elected MABE President

Francois Recipient of Willis Award

Hathaway Beck Completes Leadership I

Hopkins Completes Leadership I

Bauer Completes Leadership II

Brightman Completes Leadership II

Carr Completes Leadership II

Groth Completes Leadership II

Henry Completes Leadership II

Janssen Completes Leadership II