MABE Leadership Presents on ESSA at State Board



The State Board provided the opportunity for representatives from the Maryland Association of Boards of Education (MABE) to present the association’s perspectives on the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) and the development of Maryland ESSA Accountability Plan.   Board President Andy Smarick welcomed MABE’s representatives, and noted that the State Board had afforded the same opportunity to other major stakeholders including the Public School Superintendents Association of Maryland (PSSAM) and the Maryland State Education Association (MSEA).

MABE’s President-elect Joy Schaefer, who chairs MABE’s Committee on ESSA and is a Frederick County board member, presented MABE’s statement. She was joined by Ellen Flynn Giles, MABE’s representative on the MSDE ESSA Stakeholder Committee, and a Howard County board member, who participated in the morning’s dialogue with the State Board. 

Back to News & Blog