Frederick County’s Joy Schaefer, MABE Board of Directors Alumna, Presented with MABE’s “Distinguished School Board Service” Award

Jennifer Beltz

The Maryland Association of Boards of Education (MABE) is pleased to name MABE Board of Directors alumna Joy Schaefer as our recipient of the Distinguished School Board Service Award. This award is presented to a board member who has made outstanding contributions to public education through school board service in Maryland. Ms. Schaefer was selected from among numerous highly qualified, dedicated nominees recommended by local boards of education.

Ms. Schaefer served on the Frederick County Board of Education from 2012-2019, where she was elected both vice president and president in recognition of her leadership abilities, vision and organizational expertise. In their nomination, her Frederick County Board of Education colleagues singled out her talented bridge-building abilities, as well as her focus on empowering families and serving young people.

We at MABE also salute Ms. Schaefer for her extraordinary and inspiring level of active involvement with our Association. In addition to serving as president of MABE Ms. Schaefer also chaired several key MABE committees — Legislative, Conference Program, School Funding Adequacy, and Nominating. Notably, she also represented her MABE colleagues on the Kirwan Commission where she played a key role in chairing one of the Commission’s four policy workgroups. MABE’s Immediate Past President, Martha James, praised Ms. Schaefer’s “insights and unwavering commitment to education for each child,” noting that “her kindness is balanced by a steadfast commitment to doing what is right for the right reasons.”

We were proud to present the Maryland Association of Boards of Education Distinguished School Board Service Award to Ms. Schaefer at MABE’s Annual Conference 2021, and share our warm wishes for her continued success in the years ahead.

Back to News & Blog