Contact Information

Media Contact:  Jen Beltz, Ph: 410.841.5414

Press Releases, Statements & News Clips

(Note: some news outlets may require passwords)


MABE Honors Montgomery County's Laura Mitchell, M.B.A., with MABE's 2024 Excellence in Education Award

"5 Ways to Strengthen the Blueprint": The Daily Record features perspective from MABE President Michelle Corkadel

Maryland Matters: MABE representatives ask Maryland lawmakers to continue to support the Blueprint for Maryland's Future's education reform plan


Major New Programs Launched by MABE in 2023 to Benefit Maryland School Systems Show Impressive Early Results

Optimal amount of local school system discretion needed when adopting new CCR standard, MABE writes in Southern Maryland Chronicle letter to the editor

The Center Square national newswire features MABE perspective on proposed College and Career Readiness standard

Maryland Matters: MABE President Michelle Corkadel calls for Blueprint-related equity and flexibility in proposed College and Career Readiness standard

The Southern Maryland Chronicle explores proposed new standard for College and Career Readiness (CCR)

Perspective from MABE President Michelle Corkadel featured in Black Chronicle piece on Maryland's proposed new College and Career Readiness (CCR) standard

11/9/23 statement from MABE President Michelle Corkadel to the Maryland State Board of Education on proposed College and Career Readiness (CCR) Standards

The Maryland State Board of Education and State Superintendent Mohammed Choudhury Announce Transition Agreement

Charles County joins co-op on paid family leave, initiative created by MABE and the Maryland Association of Counties, Southern Maryland News reports

Southern Maryland News announces former MABE President Ginny McGraw to receive biennial service award

MABE's "Distinguished School Board Service Award" to be presented to Charles County's Virginia ("Ginny") McGraw

The Star Democrat spreads the word on MABE's hire of Milt Nagel as MABE's new Executive Director

Caroline County's Milton ("Milt") Nagel named new Executive Director of Maryland Association of Boards of Education (MABE)

Statement from Maryland Association of Boards of Education on House Bill 119 

The Washington Post gets MABE's take on controversial House Bill 119 and the importance of preserving local governance

The Baltimore Banner Shares MABE's perspective on competitiveness of superintendent searches

WJLA abc 7 News: Maryland School Board Members Push Back Against Bill That Could Withhold Their Funding

"A Maryland bill could change who controls what's taught in schools": The Baltimore Banner gets MABE's position



Maryland Public Television Airs Perspective from MABE on Implementation of Landmark Blueprint for Maryland's Future

The Kent County News Announces New MABE President Joseph Goetz, New Officers and Board of Directors

Kent County Board of Education President Joseph Goetz Sworn In as President of Maryland Association of Boards of Education (MABE) 

UMBC President Dr. Freeman Hrabowski, III Awarded “Excellence in Education Award” by Maryland Association of Boards of Education (MABE)



Maryland Matters Spotlights MABE's Incoming President, Officers and Board of Directors

Southern Maryland News Announces Swearing in of Ginny McGraw (Charles County), MABE's 2021-2022 President

Charles County's Virginia (Ginny) McGraw Sworn in as President of MABE at Annual Conference

Frederick County's Joy Schaefer, MABE Board of Directors Alumna, Presented with MABE's "Distinguished School Board Service" Award



MD School Law Deskbook Now Available

Tammy Fraley Appointed MABE President for 2020-2021 at Annual Conference

Statement in Opposition to the Governor’s Proposal to Cut Education Funding

MABE Announces Virtual Plans for Annual Conference

MABE’s Commitment to Equity and Diversity

MABE Responds to Recovery Plan

Gov. Hogan Vetos Blueprint for Maryland’s Future Act

MABE’s COVID-19 Response

MABE Shares Coronavirus Resources with School Leaders



MABE Calls for Community Engagement & Action on Kirwan

Martha James-Hassan Elected MABE President for 2019-2020 at Annual Conference



MABE Announces Dr. Edward Root, Former Member of the Allegany County Board of Education, Selected 2018 Distinguished School Board Service Award, Recipient

ESMEC Experiences First-Year Success with Keenan Pharmacy Purchasing Coalition (KPPC)

MABE Congratulates Member Martha James-Hassan on receiving the Annual Dr. Effie H. Jones Humanitarian Award from AASA

Open Meetings Act Alert

MABE Hires New Director of Communications & Marketing